Mastering DFIU Import Utility

I always get a chuckle out of the help desk – when they tell me to ask my DSM ( sales rep ) for help with DFIU. I could teach him …:-)

Just updated a new X line for tools and tried some LONGER DESCRIPTIONS — as the new version of Exploris ( Parts Watch by Autologue ) can handle them …. got the error that the column data doesn’t match the header ( typically you have a comma in some field you forgot to replace with a dash )

Now the error message could be accurate – but I have also found it is a catch all for their programming limits. In this case I had used an excel formula =LEFT( original desc , 70 ). to limit at 70 characters ….

So I tried at 60 – same error code

So I tried at 40 characters … it is now updating as I type this. Wonder what the sweet spot for this version of DFIU is … may experiment with the next price sheet.

About Make CARQUEST even better for us all

My partners and I have 4 stores in SW Ontario in smaller towns - and work hard to make our stores the best they can be.
This entry was posted in DFIU ( adding X lines ). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment